Guinjoan Gispert
Born November 28th, 1931 in Catalunya. Studied in Barcelona under Taltabull and in the Music Conservatory of Liceu. Earned masters in composition, orchestration, piano and direction in Paris. Performed rigorously on the piano from 1957 to 1960, doing recitals in Spain, France and Germany. Since 1964, has maintained contacts with the French avant-guard and has dedicated himself to composition rather than performance. Was founder, with Juli Panyella, as well as director of Diabolus in Musica in 1965. From then on, he has worked to spread contemporary music from the 20th century as head of musical groups and orchestras in Spain and abroad.

Directed the first Spanish version of the History of the Soldier, by Stravinsky. In 1969 released the balleyt Els cinc continents, at the Grand Teatre of Liceu, sponsored by the Juan March Foundation. Among his numerous activities, he was also a music critic for the Diary of Barcelona and other magazines until 1975; adviser and director for programs on TVE; author of The History of Music (Editorial Marín, 1972). At the request of the Secretary of State of the state of Washington in the United States, he did a tour of performances at many prestigious venues in Europe and North America.

Has worked with many orchestras and chamber groups, as well as national renowned soloists on worked on a global scale. Among many awards, has received the Composition Award in Barcelona, 1972, ‘78, and ’83; National Disco Award, 1982; the Reina Sofia Composition Award, 1983; finalist for the World IRCA Disco Award; National Music Award, 1990; 1981 was named Chevalier des Arts et des Letters, a title bestowed by the French government. In 1981, published Ab Orígine, where he synthesized his musical thought. Was invited as composer and director by the UNEAC (Cuba) in 184 and by Europalia (Brussels).

Founder (1986) and director of the Center of Documentation and Diffusion of Contemporary Music, under the Department of Culture, city government of Barcelona. Director of International Contemporary Music Week in Barcelona and honorable member of the Electro-acoustic Music Association of Spain. In 1988, published a book, Joan Guinjoan – Josep M. Mestres-Quadreny (Dialogs in Barcelona), edited by the city governments of Barcelona and Laia. In October of the same year, his work, Passim Trio, was selected to be performed and broadcasted by Euroradio.

L’OCSA (Olimpíada Cultural SA) in 1989 asked him to composer an opera about Gaudí, with libretto of Josep M. Carandell. In 1993, founded an International Music Competition in Tarragona.

The composer has not given any additional contact information.
Associació Catalana de Compositors
Pg. Colom 6 · Espai IV
08002 · Barcelona

2009 © Associació Catalana de Compositors.