Graus Ribas
Oriol, Graus Ribas

Born in Barcelona in 1957, Oriol Graus Ribas studied composition and electronic music with Gabriel Brncic and computer music with Lluís Callejo. He has attended courses taught by Luigi Nono, Dieter Schneabel and Josep Mª Mestres-Quadreny. In 1986 he received a scholarship from the 33d Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik in Darmstadt. (Germany).

A founding member of the Spanish Association of Electroacoustic Music (AMEE), Graus was vice president of the Catalan Association of Composers from 1997 to 2000.


I Concurso Musicians Accord. New York 1985. Miradaclosa IV, (String Quartet).

VI Tribuna de Jóvenes Compositores, Fundación Juan March, Madrid 1987.
Sense tu, (2 Fl, Bsn, Cello, Piano).

INFART 90, Fundació Caixa de Pensions, Barcelona.
Oketus, (Electronic music)

IX Premi de Composició Ciutat d'Alcoi per a Música de Cambra.
Exoir, (Fl, Cl, Bsn, Hrn, 2 Perc, Piano, Vl, Vc, Cb)

V Premio de Composición Andrés Gaos
Deseo y esperanza. (Symphonic Orchestra).

IV Concurso Internacional de Música Electroacústica. Sociedad General de Autores y Editores de España.
El Bosque encantado. (Electronic music).

He was member of the traditional music group Lahiez and contemporany music grup Phonos

From 1980 to 1986 he performed his compositions for three guitars and prepared guitars with Antònia Montserrat and Jordi Rossinyol, also participated in this project; Alejandro Sánchez, Mercé Capdevila and Oriol Rossinyol.

Between 1985 and 1989 he made, together with Mercè Capdevila, a series of multimedia concerts with images and laser

Between 1990 and 1997 his work focuses on the electronic transformation of the sounds of traditional acoustic instruments. In 1992 he was commissioned by Centro para la Difusión de la Música Contemporánea for the creation of Record Perdut (Fl, Cl, Synthesizer, Pno, Vl, Vc. All instruments amplified and transformed electronically and in 1993 he was commissioned by Phonos Foundation for the creation of La Tolerancia (Fl, Cl, Sax, 2 Computers, Synthesizer Pno, Vc).

Interested in applying certain electronic-music composition techniques to instrumental music led him to create Stella Fugacis, which was premiered in 1999 by the Orquesta de la Radiotelevisión Española under Enrique García Asensio, and Deseo y Esperanza, which won the V Andrés Gaos Composition Award in 2003 and was premiered that year by the Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia under Muhai Tang.

In 2003 he was commissioned from the Centro para la Difusión de la Música Contemporánea and 'Radio Nacional de España' for the composition of a work designed specifically for the radio, the premiere was broadcast live by Radio Nacional de España within the framework of the Festival of Contemporary Music of Alicante

In 2007 he worked with architect Sergi López-Grado on a series of musical projects focused on the creation of urban soundscapes, among them Camins d'aigua.

Since 2009 his work has been primarily electroacoustic, especially multifocal diffusion projects, for arrays of between 8 and 30 speakers. These works have been presented in El laboratorio del Espacio (2010), Festival Zeppelin (2016 and 2018), The New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival (2017) and XXIII and XXV Festival Punto de Encuentro, Barcelona. (2016 and 2018)

Together with artists from other disciplines, he has created interdisciplinary and multimedia projects, as well as occasional works for dance, short films and videos.
The composer can be contacted by:
Associació Catalana de Compositors
Pg. Colom 6 · Espai IV
08002 · Barcelona

2009 © Associació Catalana de Compositors.