Torras Salvador
Montserrat, Torras Salvador
Montserrat Torras was born in Barcelona, Spain and earned her B.M. degree from the Conservatori Superior de Música del Liceu. She studied with Catalan composer Mercè Capdevila and piano with French concert pianist Jean-Pierre Dupuy. She holds a M.M and a D.M.A. in Composition from the New England Conservatory. She has studied with composers Michael Gandolfi, Lee Hyla, John Heiss, and Robert Cogan. Ms. Torras has been invited to several summer festivals in Spain and the United States. She has been a fellow at the Tanglewood Music Festival. She has received master classes by composers George Benjamin, Osvaldo Golijov, Augusta Read Thomas, Robert Beaser, and Julio Estrada. She has also attended col•loquia by major composers Pierre Boulez, Elliott Carter, and Brian Ferneyhough.
Montserrat has been commissioned by Plural Ensemble, Auditorio Nacional de Música de Madrid, Collage New Music, Tanglewood Music Center, Firebird Ensemble, Dinosaur Annex, Primary Duo, Boston University Tanglewood Institute, y Henschel String Quartett; her music has been performed by Boston Modern Orchestra Project, NEC Honors Orchestra, Fromm Players, Jupiter String Quartet, Ensemble OBC; and she has been the recipient of awards and grants such as the Donald Martino Award for Excellence in Composition, the BMOP/ NEC Composition Contest, the Honors String Quartet Competition, Fundación Autor Grant, the Tourjeé Alumni Award, and the NEC Merit Scholarship. Her large orchestra work Hèlix, a commission by Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya, has recently been premiered in Barcelona’s main hall L’Auditori and broadcasted by Spain’s National Radio Station.
The composer can be contacted by:
Montserrat Torras Salvador :
Associació Catalana de Compositors
Pg. Colom 6 · Espai IV
08002 · Barcelona

2009 © Associació Catalana de Compositors.