Pere Josep
Puértolas Gutièrrez
Born in 1949, he attended the Conservatori de Música del Liceu where he studied violin with F. Guerin, chamber music with Maria Canela and took various courses with violinist Antoni Brossa and the pianist Rosa Sabater.
In 1969 he enters the Orquestra Simfònica del Gran Teatre del Liceu as violinist and In 1978, as violinist he joined the Orquestra Ciutat de Barcelona, and later worked as the orquestra’s Head of Press and Public Relations.
He has also graduate in Hispanic Romance Philology and Art History in the Universitat Central de Barcelona, and in 1983 he was awarded by the University of Granada for his work in their postgraduate Contemporary Art courses.

Since 1990, he exclusively composes music for living.
His first works were composed for stage and screen, and were especially aimed at the younger audience, but his works comprises nowadays chamber music pieces, band, orchestral pieces (overtures and concertos), operas (as Josafat), numerous orchestrations and arrangements, and a Lied cycle premiered in 2006.
Nowadays (2007) he is putting music to a lay requiem.
His works have been interpreted an numerous occasions in Spain and beyond, to great public and critical acclaim.
The composer can be contacted by:
Associació Catalana de Compositors
Pg. Colom 6 · Espai IV
08002 · Barcelona

2009 © Associació Catalana de Compositors.